Update on proposed council mergers

27 Jan 2016

The Minister for Local Government has published a list of councils impacted by NSW Government’s merger proposals. If approved, the mergers will reduce the number of regional and rural councils in NSW from 102 to 83.

The proposed mergers are:

Armidale Dumaresq and Guyra

Bathurst and Oberon

Berrigan and Jerilderie (part)

Blayney, Cabonne and Orange

Bombala, Cooma-Monaro and Snowy River

Boorowa, Harden and Young

Conargo and Deniliquin

Cootamundra and Gundagai

Corowa, Urana and Lockhart

Dubbo and Wellington

Dungog and Gloucester

Goulburn Mulwaree and Palerang (part)

Murrumbidgee and Jerilderie (part)

Shoalhaven and Kiama

Murray and Wakool

Newcastle and Port Stephens

Palerang (part) and Queanbeyan

Tamworth and Walcha

Tumbarumba and Tumut

Public enquiries are being held in each of the above areas in early February. Submissions in response to the proposed mergers are due by Sunday 28 February 2016.

The Minister for Local Government is expected to make a decision on the new councils by mid-2016.

Suite 1202, Level 12, 32 Walker Street, North Sydney NSW 2060 | Phone (02) 9188 4390 © All Rights Reserved | Sitemap | Website by PDQ Design