Regional council mergers halted

21 Feb 2017

With a new Premier installed at Macquarie Street, the NSW Government has announced a change of direction on forced council amalgamations. While it will push ahead with city council mergers, the following proposed regional council mergers will no longer proceed:

  • Armidale Dumaresq and Guyra (now Armidale Regional), Uralla Shire and Walcha councils
  • Bathurst Regional and Oberon councils
  • Blayney Shire, Cabonne and Orange City councils
  • Dungog Shire and Maitland City councils
  • Newcastle City and Port Stephens councils  
  • Shellharbour City and Wollongong City councils
  • Dungog Shire and Port Stephens councils

Councils that have already amalgamated will continue as merged entities.

PO Box 200, Forster New South Wales 2428 | Phone 0498 765 055 © All Rights Reserved | Sitemap | Website by PegboardCo